The Would You Rather Book Tag

would you rather tag

Thank you so much to Skylee at The Night Girl for tagging me in the Would You Rather book tag!

Would you rather only read trilogies or standalones?

I think I would rather read trilogies because you get to spend more time with the characters, explore more of the world (if it’s fantasy), and get a more complex plot. However, I hate reading trilogies (or series of any kind) if all three books have not yet been released. I’m crazy and any time I read a new book in a series, I have to reread the previous books, so by the end of a trilogy I’ll probably have read the first book three times, the second book twice, and the last book once, which even I admit is weird. So I’d say trilogies, as long as I can read all three books back-to-back.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I’ve never really cared who writes the books I read. Debut, indie, male, female, old, young, black, white–I care about the story. But most of the authors I end up reading are females, so I guess that’s my answer. (As a side note, of my all-time favorite authors, they are split half and half between males and females, so it’s not like male authors don’t work for me.)

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Wow. I dedicated an entire blog post to this question. But the tl;dr version is this: if I know what books I want to buy, Amazon is convenient. If I’m looking to discover new books, it has to be an actual bookstore (if that is Barnes and Noble or a local store, I honestly don’t care).

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

Neither? Book-to-screen adaptions have never really worked for me. No matter the format, part of the book will always be lost. (I discussed this in a TTT recently.) I love watching TV, but the books I read are special to me because of how they were written and I don’t hunger for them to crossover.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Five books a week. I spent a blog post talking about this at the beginning of summer, but after power-reading eight books in two weeks, I’ve come down on the side of reading quickly rather than slowly. The story is so much more powerful when read all at once, instead of spread out across a lot of days.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

AUTHOR. I like reviewing books, but being a published author is my dream (and not the kind of dream that never comes true–I really think I could do it).

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

Bookseller, for the simple reason that I haven’t been to a library since elementary school. I have nothing against libraries or librarians, but I like collecting books myself (“I have to give them back?” five-year-old me asked my grandmother). If I worked in a bookstore, I could still recommend books to people and fangirl about my favorites with fellow readers, but I would be more in my element than if I were a librarian.

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

I don’t know my favorite genre. It’s a tie between fantasy and contemporary. I wouldn’t mind only reading fantasy books, however, because of the diversity of characters, worlds, and plots that the genre encompasses. Only reading chicklit would get old very fast, though I would miss the genre if I cut it out entirely.

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

PHYSICAL BOOKS.

…not sure why I feel so strongly about that


Since this is a very popular tag and I’m not sure who has been tagged and who hasn’t, I’m not tagging anyone in particular.

Basically, I’m tagging all of you amazing people! 

 

5 thoughts on “The Would You Rather Book Tag

Share your thoughts!