Book Review: The Mediator series by Meg Cabot

As I’m still waist-deep in The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay I thought I would review another paranormal series I read a while ago: Meg Cabot’s The Mediator series (book one: Shadowland).

These books, like a lot of Meg Cabot’s books, are just plain fun. Buffy-the-Vampire-Slayer-esque, they are a mix of chicklit and paranormal romance. It seems like a long series, but all the books string together and they read fast, making the series what I call “popcorn books” (books you read quickly, like eating popcorn). The romance is sweet and funny. The characters come alive and make you laugh. The books’ plots are ridiculous but ensnaring. Some of the books in the middle of the series aren’t quite as good, but by the time she ended the series, Meg Cabot got her act together again, giving the series one of the most perfect, sweetest endings of any series EVER. Seriously, just rereading the last few pages can make me tear up. My sister and I agree it is worth reading all six books for the last twenty pages–that’s how good they are.

I read them about a year ago, but I remember how much I enjoyed reading them. They’re a nice, lighthearted break between the dark and dramatic books I read. Definitely worth checking out.

The series on Amazon:

Shadowland (book 1), Ninth Key (book 2), Reunion (book 3), Darkest Hour (book 4), Haunted (book 5), Twilight (book 6)

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s